PDXPUG Mar 21: Replication with Postgres

2024 Thursday Feb 15th Meeting 6:30pm:8:30pm

Location: American Red Cross

3131 N Vancouver Ave · Portland, OR

Speaker: Grant Holly

This presentation will cover replicating your data with Postgres with a focus on streaming and logical replication. We are going to look at how the different kinds of replication work. It will be whirlwind trip through the use-cases, advantages, and challenges with different kinds of replication.

If you are a Postgres veteran and can configure replication from memory: this talk is for you. If you are someone new to Postgres, or someone who is just curious about Postgres: this talk is for you too! I’m always open to questions.

Hi, it’s me again. I’m Grant. I’ve been working with Postgres in production since version 9.2. I’ve been a speaker and subject matter expert on Postgres. Along with Mark Wong, I co-lead the Portland Postgres User Group.